Kolkata Metro Timings, History and more Information

Kolkata Metro

Learn more about the prevalent Kolkata metro timings, the history of the Metro Railway network in the city and lots more.

Before delving deeper into Kolkata metro timings and operational details, you should know that the entire metro network in the city is a system of rapid transit with two functional lines, namely one covering 27.22 kilometers between Noapara and Kavi Subhash and one spanning 5.8 kilometers between Salt Lake Sector V and Salt Lake Stadium. Four more lines are also being developed by the Kolkata Metro Railway authorities. There are several underground, elevated and at-grade stations that deploy standard and broad-gauge tracks alike. Trains usually operate between 05:45 AM and 9:55 PM with fares hovering between Rs. 5-30 on average.

Learning more about the Kolkata Metro Railway Network

Now that you have a basic idea of the Kolkata metro timings, you should also know that this was the very first operational and planned system for rapid transit in India. Planned back in the 1920s, the metro finally had construction work commencing in the 1970s. The elevated stretch was first opened between Esplanade and Bhowanipore in the year 1984. Line 2 or the East-West Metro, officially opened this year itself. It is now India’s 5th longest metro railway network after Delhi, Hyderabad, Chennai, and Bengaluru.

Kolkata Metro Rail Corporation and Metro Railway, Kolkata are the operators of this rapid transit system. Kolkata’s Metro Railway was integrated as the Indian Railways’ 17th zone in the year 2010, fully funded and owned by the Union Railway Ministry. It is the sole metro network in India to be run and controlled by Indian Railways, witnessing more than 300 daily trips and carrying 7 lakh commuters and counting!

Expansion drives of the Kolkata Metro

The Kolkata metro timings have already accommodated the past expansion of the route till Kavi Subhash from Tollygunge where it terminated earlier on the southern side. 5 new lines were confirmed by the Railway Ministry back in the 2011-12 period, covering Salt Lake- Howrah Maidan (Line 2/East-West Metro), Joka to BBD Bagh (Line 3, truncated later till Esplanade), New Garia-Dum Dum Airport (Line 6), Noapara to Barasat (Line 4 through the Airport), Baranagar to Barrackpore (Line 5) and Line 1 Extension to Dakshineshwar from Dum Dum through Noapara.

The East-West metro network is the city’s second metro corridor, linking Howrah and Kolkata via the underwater route below the River Hooghly, making it the country’s first underwater metro. Transfer stations will be situated at Howrah and Sealdah alike. The elevated extension has been approved till Teghoria or Haldiram from Salt Lake Sector-V as well. Passengers will be able to take the metro to the Airport from Teghoria. The Joka-Esplanade metro railway line is expected to cover 16.72 kilometers between BBD Bagh and Joka although the route has now been limited till Esplanade. It will cover Diamond Harbour Road, Jawaharlal Nehru Road, and Kidderpore Road. Interchange facilities for passengers will be provided at the Esplanade Station.

A connection is also being developed between the Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose International Airport and New Garia. This will cover approximately 29.87 kilometers through the EM Bypass and Salt Lake along with the Rajarhat-New Town corridor. This will lower traveling time from the southern fringes in the city and the airport. The Kavi Subhash and Biman Bandar link will come with 24 stations and the terminal station at the airport will be underground. This could be India’s biggest underground facility including the adjacent stabling yard.

Kolkata Metro Timings- First & Last Train

Kolkata Metro Timings
Kolkata Metro Timings

Now that you know the starting and closing Kolkata metro timings, you can definitely venture out, following all precautions once services resume. They are currently suspended owing to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Also Read: